Our Team

Dr. BethAnn McLaughlin (@McLNeuro; [email protected]) is an assistant professor in the departments of Neurology and Pharmacology at Vanderbilt specializing in mitochondrial and redox stress signaling in neurological injury and disease. She has received major research funding from the NIH, the DoD, the Dan Marino Foundation, the AHA and IARPA. Her career was sidetracked in 2014 when she experienced retaliation after being a witness in a Title IX investigation. Recently, the National Academy of Sciences gold ribbon panel revealed that her experience was all too common for women in science and medicine. The majority of women in these fields are sexually harassed, very few report, and the consequence of reporting is almost always retaliation. The rates of assault and harassment of those we seek to include most including people of color, LGBTQI and individuals with disabilities are far higher and even more devastating.

Dr. Johanna Folk (@Johanna_Folk; [email protected]) received her PhD in Clinical Psychology from George Mason University in 2018. Dr. Folk completed her clinical internship at the UC Davis Medical Center and is currently a postdoctoral fellow in the psychiatry department at UCSF. Dr. Folk conducts translational research with adolescents involved in, or at-risk for, involvement in the criminal justice system and their families. Dr. Folk joined the MeTooSTEM leadership team in 2018 to raise awareness about sexual and gender based harassment in STEM, support the voices of survivors, and contribute to systemic changes to create safer and more equitable environments for all.

Dr. Teresa Swanson (@SciSwany; [email protected]) received her PhD in Pharmacology from the University of Washington in 2016. She transitioned away from the bench to be able to focus her attention on improving the many issues within the research community that plagued her PhD. Dr. Swanson created a position as an outreach and communications specialist for a neighboring graduate program to help increase the diversity of opportunities available for graduate students. In January 2017, she co-founded the March for Science Seattle, which hosted approximately 30,000 science enthusiasts during its first march, and she continues to lead the organization today. Dr. Swanson joined the MeTooSTEM leadership team in 2018 as a voice for victims after her own experience with harassment and defamation.

Britteny Watson-Ivey (@BrittenyMWatson; [email protected])joined the MeTooSTEM leadership team in 2019, and serves as the organization’s business manager. She received her BA in public relations in 2009 from Belmont University in Nashville, Tennessee, where she currently lives and runs a small business with her partner. In her spare time she enjoys spending time with her family, running and gardening.

*Affiliations listed for identification purposes only.